madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Sunshine!

Well the sun came out and shone all day! I went to Vegan Jo's to walk Kess as her son was recovering from a bout of violent sickness the previous day. She had made a fluid chart as was most concerned at the volume of fluid he was losing and the lack of fluid he was able to keep down. But the sneaky boy had a pee whilst she was upstairs which threw all her careful calculations out the window!!
We had a coffee in the sun whilst I threw a stick for Kess, she in her fleece nightgown and slippers, me unshowered but at least dressed! We both agreed that not washing and dressing was a symbol of liberation from work - not having to get up and do so before rushing off to it! I was reminded of something I heard heard on the radio - how as a child a bath was the worst thing in ones life, as an adult the luxury one clung to - illustrated how our lives contract and/or priorities change!
Well the day just continued with more coffee, stick throwing and conversation! She showed me a Birthday meaning book - I was born on the Day of the Bold!! My strengths are idealistic, tough and adaptable, my weaknesses judgemental, unrealistic and intolerant!!  It also said I value money, clothes and all the outward tappings of life, yet understand they are all a facade of a deeper spiritual life within! I can't really argue with any of that!! After that we looked up all our friends and discussed what parts we felt applied, and that maybe when we didn't agree it was because we really didn't know them as well as we thought! Jo also said those who disagreed with what the book said about them really didn't have much self awareness or honesty - both of which she felt I did! I do know I moan about the coop members not doing what I feel  are  obvious and basic minimum expectations of looking after any animal, and my mum saying I was so not suited to being in a cooperative of any sort as my standards were too high and therefore people would always fall short in my eyes! She knew me so well!!
So, a break for food - who knew agave syrup went so well with peanut butter! It was on the counter  and so I thought why not! Sweet and salty - ideal! After this we moved the log pile in her garden and the garden bench back to its place in the garden from the patio. More stick throwing till I told Kess "No More!" - he immediately laid under the table at my feet and I wondered just who had been playing with whom - was I throwing for him and him fetching for me when really neither of us gave a damn about the stick and were just doing it because we thought the other wanted it!! 
She then made us a  wonderful juice - orange, apple and beetroot, and I vowed to dig out my juicer and start using it again! Jo showed me her eldest daughters party plan - she has paid for the party herself as after the wedding money is tight, and has hired the village hall. Her band and others are playing, and the selection of music in between seemed to all come from the 80's with The Cure, Morrisey etc! Her daughter had sent out invitations written on  vinyl single records picked for each individuals  personality or likes. She had also made ribbon wrist bands to give the whole event a festival feel. When her daughter came home she said I was free to join her on the day - but Jo had already told me how her friends simply ignored her when they were in her house for gatherings, not rudely, they were just invisible to them as oldies!!! We have become grey ghosts to youth!!
Her other daughter told us we looked so "tumbler"!!! Sitting on the bench in the garden, Jo in a hat and her fleece nightie, us both drinking mint tea! Apparently tumblr is where people post "nice"  photos with #'s !!! I think it was an insult!!
On the way home there were fields of yellow rapeseed in the distance and hoards of rabbits feeding on the green grass in the fields. Beautiful! Friend called down as I was doing a complete clean of Milly and Tilly's coop, she had arranged another appointment with Dr to ask more specific questions about her treatment options and maybe pin him down on the prognosis re life expectancy. That will be thursday - tomorrow we and two other friends plan a walk to where the two rivers meet, then lunch. Everyone needs a breathing space - today was mine.

P.S. Forgot to say this is the view from my friends bedroom, the donkeys from the sanctuary graze in the field and our day was punctuated by their braying - anyone know why they do it? Was intermittent and seemed very random!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.