Stick up one's ....!

After 5 hours digging, with one stop for a cup of rhubarb tea and two  photo sessions with the hens, my potatoes are  finally in! I majorly underestimated the amount of digging left to do - 5 not 2 spade breadth and the width of half a plot!! I now have 4 trenches in the ground with raised soil either side so it looks as if I have buried 4 rather long, thin people on my plot! I nearly had a mishap for as I stooped down at the end of the marathon session to put a plank of wood in as the path marker, I sat on a raspberry cane! It was well painful as it was quite thick and had already been pruned for fresh growth! It hurt so much I feared I had done myself a nasty injury, so armed with my phone I disappeared into my shed and shut the door - i discovered my door has an inner latch as well as a catch outside to hold the door open - could this shed get any better?! So safe in the knowledge the door was not going to swing open and give Terry an eyeful who was also on the plot, I put my phone camera on reverse and had a look where the sun don't shine!! Thankfully no damage done and no unintentional selfie taken - I don't think even Beewriter would blip what I saw! I headed home for a leisurely afternoon and the promise of rain to water in my potatoes! 
Well best laid plans and all that ...my new Sky box had been delivered, so after lunch of, you guessed it, poached eggs on toast, I unpacked my box and began setting it up. All seemed fine till I tried to connect it to my broadband. After nearly an hour talking to a very nice young man from Sky, still no broadband and a replacement viewing card on it's way to me. Never one to be easily put off i had another fiddle and discovered that there was another spot to insert my viewing card! Seemed to be a bit of a theme today! The nice young man had asked me if i had another slot and I assured him I didn't, however he failed to mention looking for a front opening panel! He also told me at one point that he had to read something to me, I asked if I had a choice as to what he read and was thinking of what book I would like him to read to me when he started on the terms and conditions!! So now I could view all channels but the wonders of my new box and all it offered still beyond me! So I rang Sky again - another 45 minutes later still no broadband, as it seemed they had no information from my viewing card so could not order me the router they decided was  needed! So I am now expecting a call from the technical department in the next 48 hours! I guess the wonders of my box are going to be a delayed pleasure for at least a week! 
My blip is Daisy in the early morning sun - the rest of the girls are here, taking in the sun and scratching through the grass and weeds I dumped on their plot - chickens are never happier than when scratching for grubs and insects! So thats both them and me happy over my digging today! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.