Doggy Island

This is called doggy Island. I'm not sure if that is what it is really called but when we first moved here a lady who lived down the road took my 2 children aged 5 and 6 on a walk with her dogs. They set off eagerly and enquired where they were going "we're off to Doggy Island, then we'll turn back" they so excitedly told me when they got back where they had been and me with my dirty mind and hard of hearing had to ask twice! anyway this is doggy Island.

Today I found myself saying the same thing "we're off to doggy Island then we'll turn back", it would be far enough. You see now my children are 15 and 16. my two dogs are now elderly and a stroll to doggy island is perhaps a bridge too far but I had to try something.

My beautiful big Xander is 12, he's struggling and night times are extremly stressful, he's always come upstairs with us but now he can't make it without a performance! He stands at the bottom of the stairs and paddles in the first 2 steps, he'll then maybe have a run up but doesn't get past the second step. he can carry this on for an hour if I let him, which I did one night just to see what happens, he cries after a while and may also make a mess if he gets too stressed. so, when he starts after a while I go to him he goes out to the back door, let him out, he comes back in, we re settle, after a while he starts again at the bottom of the stairs we go through it all again, by the time he has been out for the third time, I daren't not let him out, an hour or more has past and he's still not upstairs!

I did leave him downstairs and for a few nights he was fine but he has now started to bang and scratch at the door, not funny for him to be stressed or for us, or the neighbours to listen too.

So we let him through and the stairs carry on takes place again.

I did try to lift him up to be with us and I have also encouraged him up with his lead but it is pitiful and sad but once he gets moving he keeps going and then settles reasonably quickly once upstairs but bringing him with the lead is not ideal or pleasant for him or me! and last night after getting him up the stairs after about an hour he hardly slept, panting and puffing all night. he went out but then I had to get him back upstairs.

A visit to the vet also revealed arthritis in his elbows so that also affects my judgement about encouraging him with his lead he must be in pain with his knees and elbows. poor xander.

I read on the internet a walk and fresh air might help him sleep. this is why we went to doggy island. we usually have a short walk but today we went 'the extra mile!' not really but it felt like it. both boys enjoyed their walk but my.poor old soul was limping before we got back so perhaps doggy island is too far away.

Tonight I have endeavoured to leave him down stairs with the other dog so he is not alone. alas this has not worked he has begun to bang and scratch the door already!

It appears the walk to doggy Island is not alleviating his stress tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.