Kat's eye view

By kats_eye

Time due and not taken

After tunnel vision head down absorption of work, and the hour of analysis and excavation, I
stop
to think
about my image for the day

cranes against a rich sky
leaf shadows in orange
skateboarders in the dark square
How can they see what they are doing?

The internal workings of a new building, brightly lit
workers gone home for the evening
each space open to the air, empty, exposed and expectant
waiting for the walls that will make them rooms

And I, am trying to do the opposite
to take down those walls and reveal what's inside.

Tonight, I said yes
to a visit from a man who is in love with me
when all I want is to shut down for the evening,
maybe to linger and watch,
but to be alone in my thoughts
and certainly not
to rush, to meet, to eat, be sweet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.