In My World

By JoanneInOz

Ebony and Ivory

"If you have something in your heart, it is yours. Don't let anyone touch it."

There are certain things that to me make a house a home.

At the top of my list, and in no particular order, are my children, my books, my cats, my garden, and music.

For me, music has an incredible power of association. Hearing a particular song can transport my mind back in time to the place where the sounds, smells, images, and people who were there at the time can become so powerful that I feel I have taken a journey back through time.

I wonder if my piano had the same profound effect on another person, long ago, that it has had on me? It was my piano from the moment I first saw it. When I had it delivered eight years ago, and it took its place in my lounge room, it had come home.

Whoever owned my piano, during the ninety-two years before it became mine, must have loved my piano very much. I can feel it in my heart.

What do you hold dear to your heart, that which is yours, that no one else can touch?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.