Self Portrait

Dear Diary,

Well, here it goes.  Day one of journal two and another "selfie".  Again, not a true selfie, more like a self portrait in a mirror but it works.  When I began my journal back on April 15, 2014 I started with a self portrait.  I hope to begin each year with one.  This is a bit of a push for me because I would much rather be behind the camera than in front of it.

I recently unearthed three carousels of slides from my 1990 trip to England.  It was my first overseas trip and I went by myself for 3 weeks.  It was an amazing adventure which I recorded with slides.  There were six carousels originally but I haven't found them all.  Thankfully, I have these and I will have them converted to digital files so I can make a small book of them.  I had hired a car and driver while I was there so he took several photographs of me at different locations.  I wasn't so camera shy back then I guess.

If I never find those lost slides I still have the memories and that is most important.  That is also what makes this journal so important to me.  If I had had it back in 1990 I wouldn't have lost all those wonderful photographs. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.