The trail goes cold . . .

I bought this postcard at a flea market in Barcelona for its picture of Karnak Temple at Luxor in Egypt. When I saw it had been sent to an address in Barcelona, I first thought of going there to shoot the building and follow up with a return visit of the PC to Egypt. I was too rushed in leaving to do the Barcelona end and now, when I look more closely the card, I see it has a Spanish stamp and the words (in Catalan - not my strongest) do not make any reference to a trip to Egypt but seem to be giving good wishes for an upcoming family get together and the local Barcelona holidays! So, I doubt this card has ever been in Egypt before today . . . at least it is a little closer to the source of the inspiration for its drawing. And it may be that the recipient, Señor Don Lluis Simon, had a known interest in Egypt - maybe he had been there himself . . . even to Karnak.

The card seems to have been written and sent in 1910 so it has its own provenance. Don Lluis lived in an old Gothic street in the heart of Barcelona a stone's throw from where blipper Pleasedon'tmove has his ice cream parlour. Maybe there is more to this than meets the eye . . . time will tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.