Sweet Peas, Borage and Roses

I spent a couple of hours on my knees in the garden this morning doing battle with a creeping geranium which is prickly, tough as a jungle vine, and very  invasive. It's funny how some things grow like mad in our garden, and some things just refuse to grow at all. I'm not even thinking of the bugs, the rodents, the drought or the terrible soil. Some plants, especially the volunteers that we don't even know about thrive, while others just seem to lack the will to live. Gardening is a constant process of balancing the two.

I love to arrange flowers from the garden, but I am reluctant to cut them. Sweet peas, however, will just keep putting out fragrant flowers. The more they are cut the more they produce, therefore, I picked another armload of them today. These are for you, Snowy, since I was less than clear in yesterday's entry, which was snapdragons, roses and Spanish lavender.

Despite drought, mandatory 25% cuts in water usage, arguments about why farmers, who use 80% of the state's water are exempt from these cuts, greywater systems, disappearing reservoirs and aquifers, I have to confess that I love the warm weather. I think the solution to California's water woes, like the solution to so many seemingly intractable problems lies in a less confrontational approach. As long as we keep viewing the government, the farmers, the environmentalists and the homeowners as warring parties, nothing will happen. I wish everybody would pitch in together to find a solution. In the meantime, I'm going out to the garden for a glass of wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.