Flower Friday : : Dogwood

The two sides of the Flying Goat building could be in two different cities. One side, in the shadow of the building, is next to the railroad tracks.. The wind blows along the tracks making it a veritable wind tunnel until the sun rises over the building. People are always moving the tables across the street or down the block in search of a bit of sun.The other side has three or four tables  in a little patio planted with trees. I sat there this morning and soaked in the sun, enjoying a magnolia tree, a red leafed maple and, against the brick wall a dogwood tree with the biggest blossoms I've ever seen. My shot of the full tree was so full of blossoms that it was almost cluttered, so I chose the close-up to remind me of a lovely morning.*

It's probably a good thing I went to an 8am Pilates class and worked so hard that I got an "atta girl" from the teacher, because the rest of the day was pure self indulgence. I abandoned OilMan,  happily painting the floor of his shed, Ozzie  sleeping in his bed, and Blake chasing lizards under the drystone wall (see the result in extras) and went to Sebastopol by myself to wander through Tamarind, the clothing boutique on my own. I went looking for a skirt and came home with two blouses and a scarf….

*Note the earthquake reinforcement in the brick wall. There are huge crossed steel I-beams inside of the Flying Goat building which is dressed basalt stone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.