Nóinín mór

We're in thick sweaty mizzle/haar today and everything is steaming, including me. No work until next Tuesday - school tours today and tomorrow and I'm not needed, and then a Bank holiday.

I went cautiously over the mountain in thick fog to enjoy a very productive business meeting with Traveller's Joy, complete with warm cinnamon buns and strong coffee. I think we're sorted!

We are both blipping ox-eye daisies today in protest. As I mentioned yesterday, the hedgerows are looking stunning as are the wild meadows and ox eye daisies and foxgloves are bobbing everywhere. Incredibly some people think they are messy and an eyesore, and in some areas swathes of green packed with a medley of wonderfully coloured flowers have been replaced by burnt brown as Roundup ( a ferocious chemical pesticide) has been applied. The indigenous wildflowers (nasty messy weeds) have been hacked back and replaced with puny little beds of begonias which soon succumb to the weather. What on earth is the thinking behind that?
Wordsworth liked them though :
In youth from rock to rock I went,
From hill to hill in discontent
Of pleasure high and turbulent,
Most pleased when most uneasy;
But now my own delights I make,--
My thirst at every rill can slake,
And gladly Nature's love partake,
Of Thee, sweet Daisy!


Today is referendum day here and most people are seriously underwhelmed and confused by the whole thing. I can't really get my head round it, and don't have a vote, but it's all to do with agreeing to a fiscal treaty which is apparently going to change anyway. Austerity on our own or austerity under the Germans? This might be simplifying things somewhat!!
PS just noticed it was daisies this time last year too

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.