TerryMarland

By Terrytog

Dr.Syn-The Scarecrow Of Romney Marsh-Soapbox Thurs

We all have our favourite Disney film, Snow White, Bambi,101 Dalmations, Jungle Book  etc....most of which are available on DVD. As a child the Disney film that captured my attention the most was Dr Syn Scarecrow of Romney Marsh that I saw for the first time when I was  about nine years  old.

The film, based on the book written by Russell Thorndike , tells the story of a Robin Hood type character who is a parson by day (Dr Syn) and dons his scarecrow outfit by night to lead smugglers  who in turn share their booty with local villagers. The memories that stand out for me is the costume worn by the scarecrow ( played brilliantly by the late Patrick McGoohan) his menacing laugh  and the rousing soundtrack that opens the film.

The pic here is a signed photo  that I bought on Ebay about six years ago.

My soapbox Thursday rant though is at Disney who still fail to make this  wonderful film available on DVD. There was a limited edition in 2008 that I paid my money for but failed to arrive.It was "delivered" about the same time as my lawn mower was stolen and I can only assume it was the same person that helped themselves to my DVD.

 So come on Disney there are thousands of us waiting desperately to own this classic film. Please release it so we can once again enjoy this wonderful adventure.

Thanks to youoregon1  for the idea, for hosting and for giving me the opportunity to use this teasing thumbnail.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.