LEGAL LIBRARY

Weather was bright and sunny and from indoors it seemed like a warm day.  However once outdoors it was not as warm as I expected.  In fact it was decidedly chilly.  However I began to wonder if it was just me who thought it was chilly as I saw loads of folk in short sleeved T Shirts.  They must be hardier than me.

I had an appointment this afternoon at a solicitors in Gateshead.  So I got the bus, had a mooch around the shops and went to my appointment at 3pm. My blip shot shows the book lined room where I saw the solicitor.

The reason I was there.......... well I had a letter from a solicitor in Gateshead, who was one of the executors in my will,  advising me that the firm of solicitors who held my original will, deeds to the house and  my power of attorney had gone into administration. These documents are being held in safe storage but I will have to pay to have them released.  So I paid up to have the deeds to the house released ( £42 )and talked about making a new will and possibly another power of attorney - the latter is apparently very expensive to draw up these days. So I will have a think about that.  I will wait to hear from the solicitor with news of the deeds and then make another appointment to sort out my will etc. 

This is the 3rd time a situation such as this has happened to me - the solicitor who was looking after things has either moved and didn't tell me or has gone into administration without telling me beforehand - and I have to pick up the pieces. Hope this will be the last time I have to sort everything out. Fingers crossed.

Steps today 10,076   ( I checked my steps a few mins ago and they were under 10,000 so I have been walking from one end of the living room to the other to get over 10,000.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.