MATCH DAY - ST JAMES PARK, NEWCASTLE

Off to the match this afternoon.  Newcastle were playing Swansea.  I checked the weather forecast which said it would be cloudy and cold - so I wrapped up. However we had bright sunshine and it was rather warm. Could have done with a pair of sunglasses.

My daughter texted me just before kick off to tell me that Sunderland had won their match 3 - 0  ( jammy beggars as she called them ).  Sunderland are also at the bottom of the division and fighting relegation so obviously Newcastle fans would rather they didn't get any points at all (sorry KathGordon )

So the pressure was on for Newcastle to get 3 points too.  And they DID.  They won 3 - 0.  It was great to see them score some goals at last.  Newcastle actually played quite well at times. The crowd got right behind the team and it was great to see smiling faces for a change.

It was the manager Rafa Benitez's birthday today - so it was good his team got a win. He came on to the pitch after the final whistle to congratulate his players. I have put a shot in my extras.

After the match I popped into Waitrose and Tesco before getting the bus home.

Spending the evening in front of the TV as usual.

Becky and Mike are in Brighton - Becky is running in The Brighton Marathon tomorrow.  Hope she does OK. 

Steps today - 9,009

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.