living in a glass house

By DandelionTree

Blood to Gold

"The time has come my friend to run,
I bid you please to take the roses and the loaded gun I left you
'Cause I'm hopin' now you find somehow
That I'm so damn cold,

And if this blood don't turn to gold,
I think I'm doomed."


Boy and Bear, Blood to Gold

It must be by some strange fate that I did the wrong song yesterday for the Musical May challenge. I didn't realise until I looked this morning that I had mixed up the last two days in my head- but it's a happy accident because the event today fit the theme so well. I checked the lyrics again this morning and was racking my brain for how to get this one without having to injure myself and then remembered I had "maybe" plans to see the Olympic Torch Relay. It fit perfectly- the Olympics is all about changing blood, sweat and tears into gold in the form of a medal! So we braved the rain for a blip and a new experience.

To be honest, I wasn't very excited about this- I'm just not very patriotic. Even in my own country of which it's an offence punishable by firing squad not to be patriotic (ok, I may be exaggerating a little bit). Also, I'm not much for watching sports except for maybe some gymnastics or ice skating... if there's nothing better on. But I have to say it was exciting being there! There was a buzz in the air, music and some street dancing in the distance. We watched the passing of the flame and Cleo even got to touch the torch (in it's unlit form of course.)

It's the final day of the challenge today- I've enjoyed it, though it's been very challenging at times. And I think I'm getting good at this tenuous link thing- give me a subject and I will usually find a way to fit it into something that's happening that day and a way to get one of my kinder in as well, even if the logic is slightly askew. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.