Light Evening

I’d been at an evening meeting in Sundsvall which finished just before 9 and as I came out I was happy to see there was still plenty of light in the sky, though it was dark enough for the lights to be on.
I find Sundsvall a bit of a soulless place and one of the reasons is the extreme lack of imagination it’s planners have had in the last fifty years.. Just off the right of this image is a rather lovely river running through the town, possibly it's best feature. It is hemmed in by multi-storey car parks, industrial buildings, boring offices and these boring flats.   The last ten years have seen an improvement in thinking but it came too late for large parts of the town.
It takes about an hour to drive home from here and even when I got home the long twilight was still not completely over. Only a single “star” (actually Jupiter, I think) managed to outshine the light in the northern sky. Those white nights will soon be here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.