World War II veterans

The man on the left is my grandfather. He flew in Consolidated B-24 Liberators during World War II. He was a tail gunner instructor. He didn't see combat; he was an instructor in the States.

The man on the right flew in B-17s in the war. Grandpa, the man and a third WWII veteran stood around talking (though I only got a shot of these two) for a while before the flight. The other two only came to see the planes.

They were there because the Collings Foundation was in the Tucson area with three of its living history planes: B-24, B-17 Flying Fortress and P-51 Mustang. These 70-year-old planes helped win the war in Europe and the Pacific.

I found out about this only a few days ago. I quickly called my grandfather to ask if he wanted to fly with me in a B-24 for the first time since 1945. He said yes, so I reserved our spots for $450 each (ouch).

It was totally worth it. As you may know, I am somewhat of a World War II nut, and recently I've flown in a B-29 and a B-17. This was easily the most fun of the three, and that's because I got to fly with my grandpa. They let him sit in the front just behind the cockpit. I wandered around the plane during the half-hour flight.

I can honestly say I've never seen Grandpa happier. His eyes lit up when they fired up the engines, and he had the biggest grin I've ever seen. He was so happy to be aboard a B-24 again. This memory will last with me forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.