@ la martelliere

By Turts99

Disaster!

Well THAT plan didn't work.

The weather has been sunny and calm for two days now. Despite being on bus duty, I took the kayak out onto Bay of Lopness yesterday. All  was going well until I got it into my stupid head to paddle out of the bay and on toward Kettletoft. Not being very fit, it was always going to hurt. Arrived a couple of hours later but was then six miles away from home with another regular drive to Loth pier looming. Thank goodness for the kindness of my fellow islanders. I got a lift home, leaving boat and paddle behind. 

Didn't sleep well. My arms, unfamiliar as they are with the concept of work, were agony.

Another bright, sunny and still day today. An early ferry to meet, then work out how to get the kayak home. Took the bus to Kettletoft on the way home, only to find that there aren't fifteen foots in the back of it. Had to dive off without it and psyche myself up for the inevitable paddle back.

Nothin' to it. However, it does mean that I don't have an excuse not to do the 'Bag the bruck' event the morn. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.