a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Green magic handkerchiefs

"The hillside was a patchwork quilt
Neatly stitched with tidy hedge
And crumbling grey stone wall
The trees were bare, but Spring was near
To conjure up its endless strings
Of green magic handkerchieves
 
Could you only see what I've seen
You would surely know what I mean
I think I must have caught a glimpse of heaven.
 
A string of diamonds formed a stream
That tumbled down the daunting cliff
To sparkle bright on the beach.
 
New born lambs that sweetly played
Speckled eggs all newly laid
But for you I would have stayed
I think I must have caught a glimpse of heaven."


The Strawbs - A Glimpse of Heaven


Perhaps it is a bit late for this lyric with its reference to Spring being near.  However, every time the white beam in the garden goes into bud and starts to produce its pale silvery green leaves I am reminded of Dave Cousins (he of the Strawbs) lyrics about the green magic handkerchiefs.  

I was first introduced to the Strawbs in the early mid-70's by my late friend Paul Bevan.  We sat next to each other at school when we were 11 and were best friends all the way through school. It was with Paul that I had my first experiences of motorbikes, under age drinking etc.  He endured my ridicule at the dippy folk rock tag with which I labelled the Strawbs and insisted on lending me several Strawbs albums, which I dutifully recorded on cassette tape (remember that?).  Some of it stuck immediately but it was only as the years passed that I really started to appreciate the depths in the music and lyrics.  

Paul is no longer with us,  but if there is a heaven, then I hope that they play the Strawbs (and his other music choices) on perpetual loop for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.