Friday Foto

By drmackem

Almscliffe Cragg

Feeling better today, perhaps lying under ferns is rediscovered cure from man flu.

I'm off on a trip tomorrow setting off early to somewhere I thought I'd never go to because of it's reputation(which I'm afraid I expect to be confirmed) but for a very good reason. More of that when I get there if I can get wifi.

So packing of stuff to do, this was a stop and shoot blip on the way home. The distant (much more distant than the photo looks) craggs are called Almscliffe Craggs. 2 interesting things I know about them
- one is that local legend has it that the Giant Rombald fleeing (some say from his enemies some from his lady firiend) clipped one heal on the rock on Ilkley Moor splitting it into the Cow and Calf - that I have frequently blipped, and his next foot fall was 14miles away at Almscliffe Craggs. Either he was a very big giant or the lady friend was very scary.

- the other relates to initals carved either side one relates to the Harewood Family who own(ed) the land nearby the other TF - Thomas Falks whose family are more notorious, we still burn effegies of Guy Falks early November which if you think even briefly about is a worrying ritual still joyfully celebrated in these parts.

I've often thought of taking this photo on the way home, but even today it's a bit hazy. I like the fields like a patchwork, it reminds me of how much I appreicate seeing the land being worked for food production and how I worry that we've let too much of that go for our own good in the UK. Blip tomorrow from somewhere somewhat different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.