Friday Foto

By drmackem

Prejudiced?

OK so here's the story. Mum was 80 in January, but having just lost her sister Miri wasn't for celebrating. So her remaining siblings cook up a plan to holiday in and near Benidorm and have 2 celebration nights, one to remember Aunty Miri, the other to celebrate mums birthday. So they, assorted cousins, my sister and family are holidaying out here and unknown to mum I've flown out and do the loving loyal son thing which comes easily as she's so so wonderful.

So here I am in Benidorm. Any Brits out in blipdom will know that Benidorm has a bit of a reputation. My flight in was accompanied by a large stag party who were drinking hard before I'd had breakfast. My heart sank as 30 lads with their t shirts adding to the herd feel, got on my transfer bus, all raucous, but whilst they were clearly up for a bit of fun what I found was two generations the farthers of the bride and groom and the grooms mates who were just excited to meet up with folks who'd moved away but were gathering from various parts, whole lives and loves and memories were being remembered, they were going to have a great weekend.

To celebrate Miri 20 of us were going to go down "champagne " alley - Miri's term, to say that it wasnt sounding like my thing was a bit of an understatement. In reality it was a narrow street of tapas bars, the food as we trecked from bar to bar was exceptional, I declined a champagne at every stop but did enjoy the beer. There were tears from her sisters when we started but my memory of such a kind and fun lady was all our memory and we had such a great family time in the end, she would have strongly approved.

Back to my hotel late/early I thought things would be kicking off at the bar next door which was painted out like a scene from Dantes inferno and presided by the most heavily pierced and tattooed bloke I've seen. When I got back I found 6 blokes their drinking coffee and I like to fantise reflecting on Satre and postmoderniy rather than the heavy metal devil worship I was expecting.

Surprised and loving the vibe in the sun in Benidorm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.