But Not in Japan

I cannot resist taking photos of blossom. It's so exquisite.

A beautiful day today. Basil and I were out in the garden first thing which was when I gave into temptation and took myriads of photos of blossom - of which this is one.

Then spent the best part of the next six hours trying to sort out printing on my new printer. Curses! I needed to do another monitor calibration as colours on the screen didn't match colours on the prints. And even that wasn't straightforward.

By half past two, Basil and I were ready to go out. We walked up Trueway Drive to a bus stop and waited. There are bus stops now, and signs telling you clearly at what times there will be a bus. Sadly few and far between since timetable changes last week.

We went to the Berber Shop in Loughborough where I persuaded Mr Aziz to recount stories of his boyhood in Tangiers which I can embellish for my OU course in Creative Writing. Scribbled it all down in my notebook. He spoke in Moroccan Arabic to his friend most of the time, but I did manage to note the basics.

Then a quick decamping to the bus stop to catch the last number 4 home. Garlic prawns for supper, and wallowing in the luscious Italianness of Inspector Montalbano on BBC 4. He always gets his woman, and then loses her again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.