Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Classic

It doesn't matter how much informal planting and windy paths there are in big English gardens, we do have to have our classical references or we feel lost.  This wonderful garden belongs to Hinton Ampner House (aka The National Trust).  It has a completely fabulous 20th century garden with big areas of informality and rampant planting, but just look at the straight lines on that hedge.  And of course the nymph, who I think is the goddess Artemis/Diana.  I have to admit her siting at the end of a transverse avenue does add a sense of structure I rather like.

So this was me today.  While another member of the household, who shall remain nameless, was nursing a birthday hangover, I took myself off here and spent the afternoon communicating with my camera and a very nice lady from British Columbia I met wandering on the lawn.  She was a member of the National Trust, with stamps on her loyalty card for a free cup of tea.  I was impressed.

All prepared for the week ahead?  No, who needs reminding.  Have a good one though  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.