ANOTHER DEFEAT Newcastle United 1 Spurs 3

Pottered around at home this morning and then got the bus to Newcastle. Off to the match. It was a 4pm kick off but I got an early bus just in case the traffic was bad.  It wasn't  - so I had some time to spare to look round the shops for a bit. Weather was very pleasant - sunny and warm-ish.

The match - Newcastle V Spurs.  I decided not to boycott it.A boycott of the match had been organised on Social media as a protest against the owner of the club.  He is a businessman and only in it for the money.  Spends the bare minimum on players and consequently we have a poor team who continue to do badly in the league.  Today was no exception - they lost again.  The attendance today was quoted as 47,427.  The attendance for the previous home game was 50,544 so it seems as though the massive boycott which was forcast didn't actually happen. I guess a lot of supporters felt as I did - that we had already paid for our season tickets so non attendance  would not hurt the owners pocket and we also wanted to show our support for the team ( and hoping the team would respond by putting in some effort ). Everyone you meet seems to have an opinion about Newcastle United but almost everyone wants the owner gone. 

So what about my blip shot. Well some fans of our bitter rivals Sunderland football club paid for a small plane to fly over the Newcastle ground this afternoon while our match was on. The plane was towing a banner reading  5 IN A ROW SUNDERLAND. This refers to Sunderland winning the last 5 matches between the 2 clubs.  Nothing like rubbing salt in the wound.

After the match I came straight home.  Bit of a wait for the bus as the Sunday service isn't great and the bus I got only went to the village so I had to walk the last bit home.  All added to the step count I suppose.

Neil was here when I got home so I cooked his tea.  His usual - steak with cheesy mash.  Neil knows what he likes and sticks to it.  Mind you I'm the same. I had grilled salmon with salad - a meal I have 3 or 4 times a week.

Got a bit of a shock when I sat down on the sofa this evening. The cushion was wet and the throw which covers the sofa was wet.  Naughty Tino had done a wee there.  Its months and months since he has done this.  I was so sure he had stopped that I had put some  cushions back on the sofa.  I took them all away after he did a wee last time - guess I need to take them away again.  I wonder what happened while I was out to make Tino blot his copybook.  I sometimes wish I had some sort of CCTV in the house to see what Tino and Lily get up to when I'm not here.

Steps today - 10,015


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.