Janus

By MrsRobert10

Ladstone Rock, Norland Moor

I made a quick transpennine trip to visit my sister who was a little under the weather. On my way back I took a short detour around Norland Moor which is very close to home, as I thought the evening sun would be shining on the rocks along the moor edge. I was not disappointed. This view is of the Ladstone rock. There has been speculation about the use of the rock as a place of sacrifice, or where witches were thrown off in the Middle Ages. This is apparently based on the Celtic word for "kill" being "Lladd", a possible explanation for the name of the rock.
The view from the rock is of the Upper Calder Valley, a.k.a. Happy Valley, the eponymous TV series in which misery lurks round every corner, and a gruesome death on every moorland road. In reality of course it's quite pleasant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.