Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Pondering

I was wondering what might be going through this fellow's head as he sat on this branch in Madera Canyon.  He's a male Broad-billed hummer.

I took a drive up there this morning just for a few minutes.  I needed a "hummingbird fix."  I'm getting a little depressed at the inaction taking place at the feeders in my backyard. 

Zippy has dominated the territory for over a year but there have always been other birds at least attempting to feed here.  Some have been successful.  By this time last Spring, there were too many in the area for him to totally fend off.

I know that if there had been more opportunities for other hummingbirds that he would not be able to defend more than one feeder.  So mom let me have her double Shephard's hook.  Now I have three feeders hanging in the yard.  Still, no sign of other birds, and in fact, not many visits from the Zipper.

Alma told me not to be discouraged because the ocotillo are in bloom and they love those.  The cholla are blooming now, too, and I have often seen Zippy at one in the past.  So I suppose I should hold out hope that when those fade they will visit me once again.

Elaine came rushing over from next door to tell me she saw a baby quail, not more than 3 cm tall, scoot out from behind a pot in her backyard.  It may have been just a day old.  She leaves for vacation Wednesday.  I may just go sit in her yard and stalk her quail family!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.