Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Here Comes Summer

"Absolutely exhausted" is the best description for how I feel. I arrived home late in the afternoon, let the three pooches out of their crates and headed out into the backyard with them. I realized that the heat of the day was getting ready to slip away and the afternoon breeze was feeling delicious, so I stepped back in the house to get my computer.

While waiting for Mr. Fun to arrive home, I caught-up on emails, browsed through Blipfoto, checked FaceBook to make sure the world still existed, captured a few photos, and just enjoyed the view.

This was the last day of the spring semester. This morning about a dozen students submitted a revision of a recent writing project. Because they had done such an inferior job of developing their essays, I gave them an "R" for revise, which means that I now have to read and grade those papers again. Ugh! I am so ready to be done grading, but teaching students to revise is a serious element of teaching students to write well.

Next week begins final exams and then graduation is on Friday evening, June 8th. So this coming Tuesday I will meet all three of my classes one last time. I don't believe in heavy-duty final exams and my students are always relieved when they learn that (they either know how to compose a quality essay now, or they don't and one more exam isn't going to prove much).

After I meet with students on Tuesday, I will report to the Writing Center to work there for two hours; then I'll total each student's scores, fill in the Final Grade Form, submit it, and the 2011/2012 school year will come to a close.

I'm looking forward to summer, but right now I need to go to bed. I'm so tired I can hardly keep my eyes open.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.