FarmerGirl

By FarmerGirl

In an emergency.....

This morning my oldest son C told me he had found the perfect blip for me today, and that involved walking up the hill behind our farm. So, I told him that we would venture there after school, and he could show me and I would then photograph it.

As we were getting into the farm ute this afternoon, the Rescue Helicopter flew over our farm, and immediately I thought 'aha - this has to be my blip for the day'. So we (the kids and I) piled into the ute and down the road we went.

This picture shows the helicopter landed at our local hospital and health centre, which incidentally isn't far from our farm. The Ambulance was also at the hospital. The Pilot left the helicopter running, while waiting for his patient - you can see the back rotor going around. We left the hospital once I had taken the photo's and went back to the farm, and within 10 minutes of leaving, the helicopter was back in the air heading for Nelson.

We are very fortunate to have such a valuable resource available to us in an emergency. Flying to our nearest major hospital at Nelson takes 30 minutes, whereas if you had to travel by Ambulance it would take 2 hours. I'm sure a lot of lives have been saved using the Rescue Helicopter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.