Life through the lens...

By ValC

A grand day out!

The best day of the year so far. Wall to wall sunshine and a temp. which reached 21C.
What a perfect day for my birthday!
So MrC treated me to lunch at my favourite pub  ( The Star at Sancton,) followed by the afternoon spent in Beverley.One of the nicest small market towns I know.
The collage shows Beverley Minster, and market place, and the main course of my delicious lunch.
We chose the Yorkshire Lunch Menu

Pan fried chicken livers, Yorkshire chorizo and Lincolnshire Poachers rarebit toasts with a herb salad.

Oven roast coley, Yorkshire pea and gammon fricassee with crispy chacuterie. Veg. cauliflower, courgettes, peas and beans. ( see photo)

Rhubarb polenta cake with rhubarb jam, and stem ginger cream.

I also had two glasses of a delicious white English wine.
Dart Valley Reserve, Sharpham Estate, Devon.

We spent the afternoon looking round Beverley Minster. What a magnificant building. A beautiful medieval glass  east window.
Also inside the Chapels of the East Yorkshire Regiment.
The organ built in 1769 by John Snetzler.
The tomb of St John of Beverley, John, Bishop of York who died 721.
He founded a monastery on this site.
I paid £3 for a permit to take the photos.  It costs £1000 a day to run the Minster, so every little helps.
( unlike York Minster there is no charge to look round here.)

Along with cards, presents,phone calls and emails from friends and family I have had a wonderful birthday! 
Many thanks to them all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.