Life through the lens...

By ValC

The Joy of Living

The Joy of Living   by  Ewan Maccoll

       Farewell you northern hills, you mountains, goodbye.
    Moorland and stony ridges, crags and peaks, goodbye.
Glyder Fach farwell, Cul beag, Scafell, cloud bearing Suilven
      Sun warmed rock and the cold of Bleaklow's frozen sea
  The snow and the wind and the rain of hills and mountains
Days in the sun and the tempered wind and the air like wine
          And you drink til you're drunk on the joy of living.

            Take me to some place of heather, rock, and ling
              Scatter my dust and ashes, feed me to the wind
So that I will be part of all you see, the air you are breathing
         I'll be part of the curlew's cry and the soaring hawk
      The blue milkwort and the sundew hung with diamonds
     I'll be riding the gentle wind that blows through your hair
                     Reminding you of how we shared
                                   In the joy of living.

Today we said farewell to one of our older walking club members, who died last week.
A short service in a local church, and this poem was one which was read by his daughter-in-law.
I thought it was so beautiful, and wanted to share it with you.
L. was a very gentle, gentleman. 
We will all miss him.
It has been a beautiful day. Perfect for a walk.
On the top of the coffin , were placed his walking boots, along with posies of woodland flowers.

I thought this photo of primroses, which were flowering in the church yard, were a fitting tribute to a kind and lovely man

The hymns we sang were  " One More Step Along the World I Go."
   and       " Morning Has Broken".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.