Treat the Earth Well...

This was an unexpectedly glorious sunny day - the moreso because I looked at a weather forecast the other day which said Tuesday would be mainly cloudy with some coastal fog, and so that was what I expected. But I awoke early to bright sunshine and had time to read a bit, play the guitar and so some gardening. I am transporting topsoil around to fill up a new raised bed...slowly but surely getting there.
In the afternoon I went out with F,, the thirteen year old son of my neighbour, whom I spend time with every few weeks. We went up to the walled garden at Felbrigg where F. and his mum have an allotment and he showed me what they are growing there. It is a delightful little National Trust garden with an ornamental pond, greenhouses and espalier pear trees and so forth and we had a lovely wander round in the sun. F. brought his skeleton toy, he is autistic and sometimes spends time communicating via his toy; anyway the toy was having a very happy day and later we took him to the sandpit where he made angel patterns in the sand.
Next to the sandpit is a rather unusual alpine garden, with decorative tree trunks and a monolith inscribed with the words of a Kenyan proverb which reads:

"Treat the Earth well, it was not given to you by your parents, it is loaned to you by your children"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.