If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Buttermere.

Another wonderful day.  The weather was perfect and the sky blue.  The odd cloud would have made things more interesting photographically, but there you go.

Another day of wandering round the Lake District taking photos.  Our first stop was on Winlatter pass over looking Bassenthwaite Lake (the only lake in the Lake district).  Next it was into the woods looking  the light filtering through the trees.  Then over the pass and stopping to walk to Spout Force.  It is many years since I was last there and the view is getting somewhat over grown.

From there we dropped down into Lorton and made our way to Crummock Water.  As I was pulling out of our parking place I noticed a vehicle which made me think that looks like the one the couple we met at Surprise view were driving.  We carried on stopping at Buttermere village parking in the National Trust Car Park.   As we were getting ready to walk down into the village we were greeted by the couple I mentioned above.  It had been their vehicle and they had recognised ours.  Off we wandered stopping in the village for a coffee and Ice Cream, only to meet the couple again as we headed for the Lake.  At the Lake I decided I would use this shot - another iconic view for my blip. 

We then progressed to the Head of Buttermere (the puddle not the village) and finally over Honister down Borrowdale and home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.