Plumose...

Most of the day was spent at the Wildlife Trust's most recent acquisition, Godmanchester Gravel Pits. I was mostly acting as a taxi driver, but occupied my time recording plants in a private part of the reserve, and taking photographs of insects. There were many solitary bees, all of which were too quick for me. But I did spend a very enjoyable time lying in the grass watching Andrena cineraria prospecting for a nest site, and even managed to observe two mating encounters. 

I came across a flowering willow which was attracting quite a few hoverflies, but in the end my favourite image was this chironomid or non-biting midge. It's unlikely that I'll ever put a name on it, as there are many similar species that can only be identified by examination of their DNA. The males of the species have these amazing plumose antennae, and form large mating swarms, which some people can find off-putting. They are often mistaken for mosquitoes, but this type of midge is completely harmless as they do not have biting or sucking mouthparts. The larvae are aquatic and are an important food source for many other aquatic creatures, including water boatmen, water beetles and some species of fish. 

Many thanks to all who bestowed hearts and stars on yesterday's fritillary. I'm sorry I'm not being a very good blipper at the moment and am failing to reciprocate, but I'm finding it hard to make time for even all the essential things in life at the moment. Typical field season really!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.