Dark blue

I woke early and decided that it might be better to do the third Thorpe Wood breeding bird transect this morning, as the weather tomorrow is forecast to be cloudy and damp. Although the sun was shining it was really quite chilly, and in the deep shade the bluebells were like pools of lapis lazuli. They've now been flowering for just over six weeks, and are perhaps at their best, but if the promised cool temperatures and frosty nights materialise, they could be flowering for another three weeks or so. Possibly the longest bluebell season ever?  

The rest of the day passed in a blur of report writing, driving, shopping and general admin. I've not felt as though I've made much progress, but actually I've ticked quite a lot of things off my list. Tomorrow I need to make final preparations for a weekend of botanical recording near Lincoln, that I'm co-leading for the Botanical Society of Britain and Ireland. We have a good number of people coming along, and I'm just hoping that the rain and hail showers are few and far between!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.