Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Not Bothered By Hoverflies

Another day of gorgeous sunshine, and this time my sister joined Mum and me for lunch.  We explored every far corner of an independent garden centre which is well off the beaten track, and found a beautiful climbing red rose - Rosa Cumberland - which Mum bought in memory of Dad.  My sister cleared and forked through the ideal patch in the garden, where it can climb up a trellis against a wall and will be seen from the sitting room.  It has a good scent, too, and flowers repeatedly between June and September.  My sister will plant it next time she visits Mum.  I've cleared away the twiggy remains of an old lavender from another flower bed, and will be putting in a new one - something I know Dad was intending to do before he was ill.  We used a lot of his old garden tools today, and finding them all neatly hung up where he'd left them last year really tugged at my heart strings.

My sister takes after Dad in being highly allergic to wasp and bee stings, so we were concerned to see what looked like a wasp buzzing nearby.  It's too early in the year for wasps just yet, so I'm guessing it was some kind of wasp-like hoverfly.  Here's a different one which I was mesmerised by as it hovered for ages mid-air in the evening sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.