Touchstone

This is an appalling photo but what it depicts is really important.  I tried a number of different ways but just couldn't get a photo that was in focus or that I was happy with.   

Regardless of the poor quality of this photo, the touchstone itself is glorious.  The photo just cannot show the colour or the size - this stone is more than 2 feet across and I can assure you that I wouldn't want to be trying to lift it.  It is a deep blue green with threads of other colour through it.  It has been supported on an old totara post that was specifically donated for the purpose.

It is ponamu (greenstone) rock from the Aniseed Valley.  This beautiful touchstone was gifted to our school yesterday, and as part of our entrance opening ceremony, it was blessed by Archdeacon Harvey Ruru of Nelson.

The person who gifted the stone gave naming rights of it to Harvey, who asked my permission to name it Blaze, in honour of all the young people whose lives are lost unnecessarily through road accidents.  Of course I cried. 

Thank you Princess on behalf of our school for such a precious gift.  Our school will value it and keep it safe for future generations.  Thank you Adrienne for the totara, the aged native timber makes the perfect seat for it.  Thank you Archdeacon Ruru for your blessings,  from all cultures.  Thank you Kuia Mania for attending.  Thank you to all of the community who participated in the ceremony yesterday.  

And thank you to every hand that will touch the stone and share their energy and life essence with it in the future.

Now I have to greet it in my head every time I pass it.  Blaze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.