An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Queen's Tulips!

So far, I've been boasting as to how un-touristy and more unusual my Blips of London have been.

Buckingham Palace

Well, if you can't beat them, join them! A colourful snap that anyone could have taken (though I did half expect to be jumped on by armed security, as one has to step over a discreetly cordoned off bit, to get this close)....

Today, possibly the last warm sunny and blue sky day for a bit, I immersed myself with all the other throngs of snap-happy Harrys, selfing themselves against the world's most famous (and photographed) Palace. And why not, indeed.

Luke and arty puritans will recoil at its postcardy tackiness, but there again, the flowers in the parks of central London are mostly drop-dead gorgeous. And the shimmering scarlet of this mass was certainly a sight to ponder.

So, got in close - and quick - and grabbed me a handful of snaps, none of which were perfect, but where there's noisy vehicles and so much going on in that skyline, it was always going to be a compromise.

Lens is Nikkor D 17-35mm f2.8

Many thanks for your comments and thoughts on yesterday's and about the rest of my stay up here. I probably will stay a day more, somewhat rejuvenated by the lazy day yesterday and simply going with the flow today.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.