Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

New Toy!

Hot-footed it over to the camera shop this morning, with Uncle A's suggestion still ringing in my ears. He had said, wisely, when I first got my new DSLR, not to rush into buying another lens. I assured him I wouldn't. But, er, what did I do the moment I was in a camera shop to buy a wee thingie to stick on to my lens cap (costing about £1)? I fondled a long lens, and couldn't give it back. It was (note the past tense already!) 75-200mm and was good fun. Although I found that I when I needed it, I had the other lens on, and when I had the other lens on, I wanted the long lens.

Uncle A spotted a fairly new lens while at the Bird Show the other weekend. It's an 18-270mm lens, and so much more useful, without changing lenses. I went along to my man in the camera shop to see if I could give him the other one back and get the new one. Yes! And he had one in stock! Result!

I went down to the coffee shop to fondle my new purchase. It's a great coffee shop, with the biggest and best scones in town. And a passable flat white. I didn't know which to concentrate on first, but the scone won. I nearly blipped it.

I walked round to the duck pond and spent ages there, with my new lens. This photo was taken on their wee island in the centre of the pond. The cygnets are quite big now, but I only saw four. Dad suddenly took off for 50 yards or so, half flying half slapping the water with his tail. Don't know if he was chasing something or just wanting to create a stir. I spotted a grey heron in the tree on the other side. I went round nearer, but he sat with his face/beak in under his wing and pretended to snooze the moment I arrived. Anyway, there was too much foliage to get a good photo.

Back home to do a few chores. You must think I'm always doing chores, but truth be told, every time I say that, I do something else, so they're still waiting.

Meeting our Canadian friends tonight. At least it'll be dry for a wander up the Royal Mile. They'll be reminding us of their invitation to come to Prince Edward Island to visit them next year. We could be very easily persuaded! Must read Anne of Green Gables in preparation!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.