Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Home from home!

Another dreich day, so off down the hill to visit Uncle A and hear about his long weekend in York. He had a rather interesting suggestion about camera kit, which I may need to investigate further. Immediately. If not sooner.

On into town for a wander. I have become quite adept at sticking my umbrella handle in my jacket pocket, thus freeing both hands for the camera, while both being sheltered. I like the cobbles in the rain, but this was a bit much, the puddles were BIG puddles. But later on it was sunny and warm and the wet pavements dried in a trice.

On the bus on the way in - top deck, front seat - one woman started up a long loud phone conversation. Then another woman started up another one. The two of them, both at once, proved too much to bear. I got up to leave when the bus stopped at a red light and cast my eyes around the rest of the (silent) passengers. There was more than one rolling their eyes in understanding of my departure downstairs not near a stop.

Imagine if they let phone calls happen in planes! I once had to stand in a very very long unmoving queue at Gatwick, and right behind me was a man conducting business loudly on his phone. The entire time. I was nearly demented.

My blip today has been blipped many times before, but not with my car in front (hehehe).

But lo! What do I find? I'm in town, need a coffee and sit down, so of course, I pop into My Lounge in the City. They didn't ask where I'd been for the last few days, but I knew they wanted to. Today I had a mini flapjack and a mini slice of carrot cake along with my coffee. There I was, browsing blipfoto, coffee in hand, leaning back on plumped up cushions, almost like home. Except that I don't have cakes and flapjacks in the flat, and I didn't put my feet up on their coffee table. But something was missing.

Yes - my slippers! I wonder if I can leave a pair under my favourite chair...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.