Maggie @ Abingdon

By MaggieJH

WOW! Fame at last

I am on a real high today. Last night I had an email from the (free) tablet edition of Metro which I read in bed every morning on my iPad whilst drinking my tea! It said they were publishing a photo I submitted for their WOW section ("Window on your World") where they feature one photo a day from readers.

The photo is one I took at my local lakes (actually reclaimed gravel pits that I have talked about before) on May 1st. I submitted it a few days later and, to be honest, had forgotten about it!

OK - so it's not exactly the Times or the Independent but I'm still dead chuffed.

Aside to non-UK readers: Metro is a free (paper based) newspaper for commuters - found in major stations etc. across England from Monday to Friday and a nice light morning read of national and international news and gossip. They introduced the tablet version some time last year.

Metro said they would send me a screen shot but haven't done so yet. However, I worked out how to do it myself on the iPad. (You press the home key and the on/off button simultaneously) and you can then hear the camera click. Then you can email it to yourself. It comes as a PNG file but I've managed to convert it to a JPG.

BTW if you have an iPad it really is worth downloading the free Metro app. As well as the daily Window on your world it also featues 6 or 7 professional photos in "Window on the World". These are often stunning, inspirational, or provocative.

Have a lovely Jubilee weekend everyone. The weather does not look good for the traditional Abingdon bun throwing event on Sunday but I still hope to get some shots!

PS You can see my blip of the same photo on my May 1st blip page and the original photo on my Flickr photostream here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.