Things we leave behind

Dear Diary,

I have never posted an image for Derelict Thursday but this morning I thought I would.  This is from an old school in my area, the Parsonsfield Seminary.  It served as the high school for several towns until a new, non-residential school was built in the 1930's.  I found this lone abandoned chair especially poignant.

We all, during the course of our lives, leave things behind; things we once thought comfortable and secure.  It is a part of growing up.  But I've found as I grow older that I am less and less inclined to abandon those comforts for the new and untried. I've reached a compromise.  Trying new things does not require one to abandon others.  It just opens up the heart and the mind to new ideas.  I hope I never loose this somewhat modified sense of adventure.


The head learns new things, but the heart forever practices old experiences.  - Henry Ward Beecher

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.