Donatello Exhibition--Superb!!

We started this morning with a visit to a superb exhibition on "Sculpture in the Age of Donatello," centered on several of his large-scale sculptures for the Florence cathedral, on loan from the cathedral's museum (which is under renovation). The show is at the Museum of Biblical Art on Broadway, and it is exquisitely mounted in their single modest gallery.  It is literally one of the best temporary exhibitions that I have seen in my several decades of museum-going. It closes June 14th--if you can possibly get there, go!

In the afternoon i went by myself to the Guggenheim, for  "Silence" by On Kawara (1933-2014), a Japanese  artist who spent most of his long life in New York--his purely conceptual art is not to my taste, but I satisfied my curiosity by walking the entire ramp. Then I briefly visited the nearby Cooper-Hewitt Design Museum, which recently reopened after a 3-year renovation.  It was excellent--no time for more at this point.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.