last legs

Her; what do I need?

Me; phone.

Her; got it.

Me; money

Her; what do I need money for?

Me; in case you stop for a drink.

Her; where will I put it? 

Me; (blank look)  Bike lock?

Her; I won’t take that.

Me; (exasperated look) House key?

Her; why do I need that?

Me; In case I’m not here when you get back.

Her; (quizzical stare).   What’s the weather like?

What she actually means is “what’s the weather going to be like in a couple of hours time when I’m hot and sweaty because I had too many layers on to start with.”

Anniemay is a brave woman.  She really is; she puts herself into difficult situations because she likes a challenge.  In just over 5 weeks time she will ride her bike from Windsor Castle to the centre of London, round Buckingham Palace and back to Windsor.  A total distance of 100km.  At night - in the dark. All in the name of cancer.

So today, she’s going out on her bike for a bit of practice.

Now I need to set this in context.  Anniemay never had a bike as a child; she had to learn to ride one as an adult.  She doesn’t really ride on roads unless I’m with her.  But I haven’t been out with her on the roads for a long time now.  And I certainly won’t be with her on the night.  So this is an amazing thing to do on her part.

In response to her question about the weather I send her into the garden to test the air.  While she does that I blip this tulip which is on its last legs.  Something I’m hoping she won’t be after her bike ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.