Men an Tol

This is one of those Cornish megalithic sites I have tried to visit before & today I made it. I parked up 4 years ago with the intention of a visit but my ankle was very bad & I didn't attempt it. Its a good job because I had read that it was around a kilometre from car to site. Kilometre my right foot !
Anyhow I did it and met some interesting folk along the way. The first couple were from Coventry and said its not far now , then I met another couple from St Just who said Look you can see it ...where those people are....what I said where those people are singing & dancing ?? Thats right they said they are Pagan worshippers !! OH ! says I what fun !!.


So as I arrived the Pagan worshippers were just leaving but it didn't stop us chatting, He was a Brit living in the States with his American wife. They visited as often as they could as it is a very special place. I asked him what the meaning of the stones is & he told me that it is a birthing stone & wishes can come true if you climb through it. I disagreed and said I thought it was some kind of dolmen or quoit but he laughed & said that it was definately not that.

In fact no-one knows for sure what it is but they are fairly certain that it was part of a Neolithic or Bronze age stone circle. There is something about the place when you are on your own. 

The next people on the scene were a young couple who appeared from the direction of Ding Dong mine. I started to talk to them & it suddenly dawned on me that they didn't know what I was talking about, It turned out they were German & we had a good laugh about it !

Once back at the car we drove onto Bottallack where we stopped for a look at a plethora of ancient Tin workings. Truly amazing.

From here we called at Cape Cornwall at St Just & Ballowal Barrow

http://www.historic-cornwall.org.uk/a2m/bronze_age/cairn/ballowall/ballowall.htm

then headed for Penzance. Through Penzance, & Marazion we turned down to Porthleven & took refuge in the Harbour Inn, where I had a fab steak & a beer. Home then & C has just lit the woodburner....I have just opened the door !

Cooler day & hazy but still shirtsleeve weather.

Last day tomorrow.

More about Men an Tol here :

http://www.historic-cornwall.org.uk/a2m/bronze_age/stone_circle/men_an_tol/men_an_tol.htm

Remember St Georges Day today !

My extra shot shows Cape Cornwall...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.