Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

Received a couple of pictures of Megan this morning, about 5 a.m. so that was my nights sleep ruined. Anyway, got me to thinking about Luke, the  choices he has made, and the life he has carved out for himself in China. He seems very happy and that is all a parent could ask for. Then got to thinking about his previous girlfriends and how different things could have been had one of those relationships been more serious and I was reminded of Pru, one of Luke's earlier girlfriends. Pru had a very large port-wine birthmark on her neck and face. It probably covered 25% of her skin. Why do I mention it? Simply because I remember how proud I felt that Luke was able to look beyond that and see the person behind the birthmark. Not everyone can, especially at such a young age (about 18 if I recall correctly). 

Don't judge a book by its cover. Easily said. Not so easy to do. I remember thinking Tim was a right plonker when I first met him 11 or so years ago. Probably my closest friend now but don't tell him I said so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.