*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

113/365: This Sceptred Isle

This blessed plot, this earth, this realm, this England.

Good old St George. Best known for killing a dragon and inspiring Wetherspoons and other unwholesome pubs to encourage people to spend all day drinking in his honour. Less well known for being born in Syria to Greek and Israeli parents and for the horrendous way he was tortured and killed for refusing to renounce his Christian faith. He is also one of the few (if perhaps the only Saint) who is respected by both the Christian and Muslim faiths. Which is what I think makes him special rather than the fact I can get 3 pints for the price of 2 in Myrtle Grove.

I spent the day enjoying the beautiful flora and fauna of my country and being thankful for what England, to me, stands for - freedom and tolerance.

And I just love herons so seeing this little chap made my day. I've taken better photos of herons but not of one as immature as this so I was chuffed.

Back-blipping as I was out for most of yesterday, enjoying the sunshine :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.