THE LAST TIME I WILL BE SECOND.....

.....for a while - at least until the cricket season is over!!

Those of you who know me and Mr. HCB will know that from November to February, I am Numero Uno in his life.  Then comes the end of winter and the seeds begin to arrive, so I am relegated to position Number 2 - but then when the cricket season starts, I am pushed down to Number 3.  As Gloucester County Cricket Club start their season next week, I think Mr. HCB thought he had better take me out today!!

He says that is not the reason he wanted to go out with me - but I haven't been married to him for over 47 years and not be able to read his mind!

So today we went out to Badbury Clump, a beautiful wood a few miles from where we live, which is covered with bluebells at this time of year.  Actually, they are a little early, as normally it is the beginning of May, but we saw that friend had been out there earlier in the week, so we got up early and off we went.  Sadly, it wasn't sunny today, but it was quiet and peaceful (until some jogging ladies with their dogs turned up!) and the sight and smell of the bluebells was wonderful.  

The only "downside" was the number of discarded plastic bags filled with dog poo!  WHAT are those dog owners thinking of?  Every one I saw, and there were at least 10, made me angrier and angrier.  How could they do that in such a  beautiful place?  But I guess the few often give a bad name to the many responsible dog owners and having said that, there was no bin to put them in anywhere near - but that is beside the point.

I daresay you are wondering why haven't I blipped a photograph of bluebells?  Well, I thought that lots of people would do that, so I rather liked these wellies that we saw at Farmer Gow's - an activity farm not that far from the bluebell wood.  We were given a tour of the farm by Steph, a student who is taking a gap year and working on the farm.  She gave us lots of interesting information  -  which is a very "hands-on" farm with pigs, sheep, goats, chickens and much more, so a really fun place for children and adults.

She told us the reason for having the wellies is that if it is muddy outside, and it often is on the farm, lots of people often forget to bring their wellies, so they provide them.  What a great idea!

We had lunch in the Farm Shop - a burger and bacon roll with salad and fruit - both of which were excellent value.  A good and enjoyable day and we are now back home in time for Mr. HCB to watch England playing cricket on TV.  It's a good job I'm an understanding wife!

"There is so much uncertainty in cricket. 
One day you can get a hundred, 
the next day you can be dismissed for a zero. 
It makes you become practical about things. 
Teaches you to accept both success and failure. 
I think I have learnt a lot about life from cricket."
Mahela Jayawardene
(captain of the Sri Lankan cricket team)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.