KEEPING ME OUT OF MISCHIEF.....

…..if that is possible. I never realised how relaxing it could be to do this creative sort of thing - but now I am hooked. I daresay that most of us did something like this at school, but making "fun" things soon gets overtaken by learning the serious and sometimes boring stuff - well I have now gone back to doing something for fun and I am so enjoying it. I was told by someone at church that we use the basic concept of Pythagoras" theorem many times, but when did you last think of or use a "hypotenuse"? Come to think of it, not even sure what one is!

My mission when I go out is to call into the charity shops and see what I can buy, which of course, puts money into their tills and helps those less fortunate, and then I bring my goodies home and décopatch them, or to use the current term "upcycle" them to make beautiful things to give as presents. When I was buying something in a Boscombe charity shop, a man asked if I sold the things I made and I told him "Not yet" so he said if I wanted to sell them, I could contact him and he gave me his phone number. Who knows, this could be the start of something big small!

The one thing that this new hobby does give me is time to think and pray and I do a lot of that - so it's not just working with my hands, but also using my mind. I am usually in a separate room to Mr. HCB so it doesn't disturb him if I pray out loud! I have probably said before that I love being retired, and often wonder how I found time to go to work!

So, dear fellow blippers, this is why I don't comment as much these days - but I do still look and enjoy your photographs, read your journals and give a few stars along the way.

Gotta go - meeting a friend for coffee soon - and perhaps I might even call into a charity shop on the way.

“Everyone is born creative;
everyone is given a box of crayons in kindergarten.
Then when you hit puberty they take the crayons away
and replace them with dry, uninspiring books on
algebra, history, etc.
Being suddenly hit years later with the 'creative bug'
is just a wee voice telling you,
'I'd like my crayons back, please.”
Hugh MacLeod, Ignore Everybody: and 39 Other Keys to Creativity

P.S. Many thanks for all your kind comments yesterday - I can confirm that the muffins were delicious!

P.P.S. I am still putting up my Post-It Notes - it gives me an opportunity to speak to people and I was really touched when a man on the bus wanted to take home the one that said "You were given this life because YOU are strong enough to live it"! He said he would put it on his fridge to remind him every day - so worth doing for just that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.