BAKING DAY

I recently treated myself to a new mixer - only a small hand one, but decided that a Kitchen Aid one would be the best. So today, as it's wet, cold and miserable I decided that I had to make some muffins. I looked in the store cupboard and found I had all the necessary ingredients for chocolate muffins, except for buttermilk - my American and Canadian friends probably have this sitting in their fridge, but it's not something we have over here, although you can buy it in the large supermarkets.

So, good old Google - "What can I use in place of buttermilk?" Interestingly, the first one in the list was from our own Nigella - so I duly mixed half milk and half plain Greek yoghourt and hey presto - here are my muffins before they go into the oven. They are full of chocolate, with white and dark chocolate chips and whoops, just remembered Mr. HCB doesn't like chocolate!! WHO doesn't like chocolate? We had been married for nearly 40 years when I discovered that so that was a well kept secret on his part!

The recipe says they keep for 2 days in an airtight tin - TWO DAYS, they must be mad!!!

They are now in the oven, rising well and I must go because I need to lick clean out the bowl before I make some Mincemeat Muffins especially for Mr. HCB.

P.S. Just made Mr. HCB's muffins and thought you might like to see them as well as the chocolate ones - when he saw mine, he said that they looked very good, so I reminded him that he didn't like chocolate - his response "Well, they look so good, I might have to force myself!" Some men are so fickle!

I wonder if I eat 7 of them they will count as my 7-a-day?

Thanks to all of you for your kind comments yesterday - sorry I didn't get round to responding, but I was busy décopatching last night and it took longer than I thought!

Happy St. George's Day to all who celebrate it!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.