Laggan Reservoir

It sneaked up on me; the notable blip number yesterday. Thank you very much for all the kind words and support.
I'm a day late posting now but I shall continue in the current tense if you know what I mean. Today we were down at another part of the same site but this section was highly accessible. You stopped the car, stepped out and you were there ready to start. We were on the north side of Loch Rannoch with a great view east towards Shiehallion which is probably the most notable mountain in Scotland (scientidically) as it was the centre of some cutting edge experiments and measurements by Astronomer Royal Neville Maskellyne in about 1773. I have read an awful lot about this and could go on for some time so I had better not start. Depending on which book you read he was a brilliant scientist, George 4th's blue eyed boy yet stubbornly rejected John Harrison's advances in mechanical time keeping -ultimately the maritime chronometer- as the way forward to longitudinal positioning at sea. He convinced the King that the answer (though he didn't have it)  remained in the moon and the stars. Bizarre when the moon is visible for less than half the month and even then some of that period in daylight when stars are invisible.

I said I wouldn't ramble.

After a much less strenuous day I took Caley up Bohuntin Hill. The rucksack that I normally regard as heavy felt really light after the loads I have been carrying earlier this week. I do not think I was working the camera well at all up there and I have consigned most of the images to the bin.

This is a very cheap toad side shot of Laggan Reservoir as we headed off for Rannoch in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.