Ben Iron

It was really difficult to interpret the weather forecast for today. I had my heart set on a trek in the Grey Corries; my favourite walk; but there were doubts about visibility, wind strength in sub zero temperatures. Its a lot of effort if you don't see anything and you can't stand up in the blizzard..
I got up at 5am, looked out the window and decided to go to Ben Iron. It was still a brilliant walk which starts with an incredibly steep section of ascent. Every time I looked over to the Grey Corries (generally a thousand feet higher than my current viewpoint) the tops remained stubbornly shrouded in cloud. Even on Ben Iron the wind felt bitterly cold, there was some snow, and Caley had to break ice on little lochans to get a drink. Despite the cramp inducing ascent we made the top pretty quickly and decided to climb the smaller neighbour Leana Mor too. If nothing else the view from this hill back towards Ben Iron gives an excellent appreciation of our earlier ascent route. It is in the background in the extra with Caley posing, not running. (There are a few extras) I was home by lunch time.
In the afternoon we cleared some junk from the garage and took it to the skip.
Maybe we'll manage the Grey Corries next weekend.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.